2016 Shrimp Festival events


Ms. Shrimp Festival
(Click Here to see last year's winners)

The Ms. Shrimp Festival Pageant sponsored by The Hampton Inn & Suites, Amelia Island. The pageant is open to high school level juniors and seniors, currently attending public, private, alternative and home schools. Eligible participants must reside in Nassau County, but may attend high school in another county. The Ms. Shrimp Festival 2015 Scholarship Pageant finishes with the crowning of the new pageant winner on Friday evening, May 1, 2014. The Hampton Inn & Suites, Amelia Island, will present the winner of the Ms. Shrimp Festival 2015 title with a $1,000 scholarship as well as the Runner-Up, Second Runner-up and the Ms. Congeniality with scholarships as well.

Ms. Shrimp Festival Scholarship Pageant starts long before the Shrimp festival. The contestants are gathered together a month and an half before the pageant for the organizational meeting, and from there rehearsals on Sundays in March and April from 3 to 5 pm up to the final week.

The competition starts with a judge’s interview and dinner the Wednesday before the pageant. On Thursday night the contestants make their first appearance in the Pirates Parade, riding the route on boats furnished by Redmond Yachts. During Shrimp Festival weekend the newly crowned 2015 Ms. Shrimp Festival will be making appearances, helping out with the Little Pirate contest, beard contest and judging of the Shrimp Boats parade.



Parade of Boats
(Click Here to see last year's winners)



Pirate Parade
Click Here to download the Parade Application Form

(Click Here to see last year's winners)

How to enter the 2016 Isle of Eight Flags Shrimp Festival Pirate Parade

Sponsored by the Marriott Residence Inn
Congratulations on deciding to enter the 2016 Isle of Eight Flags Shrimp Festival Pirate Parade. To enter you need
to do the following, download the parade packet. It contains your parade application, the participation agreement, rules of the aparade and list of the entry fees. You must return five items. The items are the parade application, the participation agreement, your group description, and your entry fee and proof of insurance.
If you will be using a float it is mandatory that you have a million insure rider. If your entry consists of walkers only, a policy will be offered at the Safety Meeting at a minimal cost. 
Checks are to be made payable to the “Isle of 8 Flags Shrimp Festival, Inc.” and follow the instructions in the form.  Please review the parade rules with all members of your group that will be in the parade. The deadline for the acceptance of your application is April 21, 2016. There will be NO applications accepted after that date, so please don`t ask.
This is a judged parade with awards being given out to the first, second and third place winners in the following categories: (1) Commercial, (2) Non-profit or Civic, (3) Walking Group, (5) Band or Preforming Group, (6) Vintage or Unique Vehicle, and a Bonus Award for Special Effects. Entries will be judged on how well you execute the parade`s theme, which is “Celebration of All American Shrimp.
You, or a representative from your group will be required to attend the mandatory Safety and Organizational Meeting which is set for April 21, 2016 at the Marriott Residence Inn, located at 2301 Sadler Road, Fernandina Beach Fl., at 5:30 pm.
Date of the mandatory Safety/Organizational Meeting is April 21, 2016 at 5:30 pm
Date of the Parade is Thursday, April 28, 2016 at 6 pm
If you have any questions my contact information is listed below.

Parade Director - Billie Childers

Download Here


2016 contests

Best Decorated Shrimp Boat

2014 WINNER 1st Place: Judge out of Valona, Georgia

Best Little Pirate

2014 WINNER Boys - Ethan Williams
2014 WINNER Girls - Beanie McAlister

Pirate In Training

2014 WINNER Boys - Karter Gray
2014 WINNER Girls - Madison Mayer

Ice Cream Eating Contest - 6-11 yrs. old
2014 WINNER - Matthew Mock

Ice Cream Eating Contest - 12-17 yrs. old
2014 WINNER - Noah Hughes

Ice Cream Eating Contest - 18 & older
2014 WINNER Greg Gedemer

48th Annual Topsy Smith Memorial Beard Contest
(Sponsored by Marina Restaurant)
2014 WINNER Tim CostLOW



Click Here To Read The Festival Rules